Psychogeography

I wasn’t present to create a map but from research I know that Psychogeography was termed in 1955 by Guy Debord. He was influenced by a French poet and writer, Charles Baudelaire and his concept of an urban wanderer. It is the recording of the psychological effects of the environment we see, the thoughts and feelings of a place in map form. As it relates to the study of the human psyche as it records the effects of different physical surroundings and different environments. This has lead to several books studying this.

“The study of the precise laws and specific effects of the geographical environment, consciously organized or not, on the emotions and behavior of individuals”.

-Guy Debord

the-naked-city-a-psychogeographic-map-by-guy-debord

A famous example by Guy Debord himself called ‘The Naked City’. Looking at this is reminiscent of mind maps, the way of showing idea generation. Using Psychogeography in the way of creating a mind map of a certain area or environment could help with the creating ideas of feelings to places, the ideas the spawn from looking at the surroundings that could then be translated into a piece of media.

I did create a map for the area surrounding my house.

psycograp.jpg

I don’t know exactly if this is right idea but I went round and drew what landmarks and iconic things I saw.